How I Make Money as an Artist

... and how you can too as a creative!

In 2024 the notion of a starving artist should no longer exist.

If you work smart.

This year I doubled down on my art.

Making art in my apartment/bedroom/living room/studio… yes it’s all just one room.

If you’re an artist, dancer, stand-up comedian or any creative there are plenty of options for you to monetise.

You may not be able to quit your day job immediately.

But living off your art as someone who did not go to art school is easier than ever…

Or off your acting without going to acting school or your dancing…

You get the point.

In general, this is…

Brands are the biggest driver of the creator economy no matter what niche your content focuses on or which platform you share your content on.

Right now THIS is how I make my money as an artist…

FYI I have a day job working for a software startup based in Sao Paulo. This provides enough money for my essentials (rent and food).

This year so far (Jan to May) I have made 3000 EUR.

  • 2800 EUR from art sales = 93%

  • 200 EUR from a brand deal = 7%

With my art, my core revenue stream… is selling the art.

I understand the power of social media as a means of marketing my art via content creation outside of just the art.

But I became a content creator for one purpose. To be able to keep making art. And so, I want the art to forever remain my biggest revenue stream.

But just like most art forms this is not consistent. I may have a good month and then have many months of not even making a penny.

Last month I did my first Instagram sponsored post with Timeleft. A consumer app that connects strangers over dinner. They paid me 1100 reals = 200 EUR for a 1 minute reel.

Already I feel that consistently making reels in partnership with brands is not the way to build sustainable revenue. Also I risk losing engagement. So…

Looking forward, I plan to add the following revenue streams:

  1. Merch. I am dropping my first collection which includes a T shirt and a bucket hat. Stay tuned by following me on instagram. Here’s a sneak peak…

Quoting myself - I found myself using this phrase a lot in my social media

  1. Sell a digital course related to growing as an artist and content creator - the creative and business side.

  2. Growing this newsletter to a stage where I can include paid advertisements for brands that fit! Beehiiv is a great platform for newsletter creators to monetise but I have some way to go

PS. thanks for your support! 🥰

If you’re a creator, founder, creative spirit or interested to learn more and connect feel free to shoot me a message on Linkedin and Instagram.

Here are my favourite news and writing on the topic of creator monetisation: